Showoff.

Today?  I knitted.

cuff

My friend Genevieve sent me some super cute toe socks, fuzzy socks (which Im wearing right now, mmm pink), AND a Regina Spektor cd.  In return, Ive started the first… eh, half inch of her mittens.  I will finish these, oh yes I will.  I was delayed a week after we made this deal, the yarn shop was inexlicably closed for business for a full six days after two days of snow.  I got this stuff on Tuesday, started it on Wednesday, and worked for about two hours on it today.  Im new at this whole knitting thing, its fun but it takes a while.  She’s neat.  She told me she had sensitive skin so I went for a pure cotton-from-Australia skein… Ive never worked with cotton before – its not as flexible as wool so I feel like my hands are getting a workout as I do it, its kinda neat.  I’ll have pincer strength like a god by the time Im done.  The cuffs are going to be this color, and the hand is going to be an even brighter green… when I finish.  I WILL FINISH, BY GOD.

I also made a swatch for my super complicated cardigan, hereby known as Bruce.  It will be my magnum opus for 2007.  This is the lace pattern called “phoenix”, after half-assedly blocking it with thumb tacks, a hand towel, and a $10 iron.

snow-050.jpg

I’ll keep ya’ll updated, if you want to hear about it or not.  Ha!  Soapbox!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Genevieve said,

    Whee! What a great color. Thank you so much! I’m super excited!! You’re neat too! Wheeeee!

  2. 2

    Tildy said,

    Im glad you like what you see so far, honey! Its coming along, slowly but surely… 🙂

  3. 3

    […] at the pattern” episode, all is going well.  I figured out I need to buy new needles for Bruce, which gives me a chance to get some Addi Turbos!  Yay.  Theyre like butter, tell you what – I […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

