Writin’ on a plane, doot doot doo…

Well this is an exciting day in the life of my nerdom. I’m on a plane going to my Hometown (gonna see the parents for Christmas, then get the hell out of Dodge and see James for New Years), and not only do I have a cute little laptop setup on my foldy tray, Ive also got some iPod rip off white earbuds in listening to Gnarls Barkley. Wow I’m an ass, huh. Nice.

Obviously it would be horrible if I were attempting to get online while the plane is in the air – Id either be swimming in credit card debt by the end of the flight or Im somehow, oh so sneakily and nefariously hacking into the navigation system and checking all my blogs while the pilots freak the hell out (“Where are we going?! Mayday! Mayday! Our radar seems to be a sex blog!”) – so I’m typing this up in Word, which is severely cramping my whole “writing wittily” thing and putting me into a more “let’s reference esoteric articles” mood, so I’ll probably keep this short. Course, Im going to be in the air for another 2 hours so I guess I should come up with something.

I would just like to say that I think two sentences ago might be the most flagrant abuse of run-on that Ive ever attempted. My god woman learn to use periods. Also? I love the word “nefarious.” It’s not in my regular rotation, yet I’ve used it four times today. I think its ready for a comeback.

On the first leg of this trip, I sat next to a congenial older lady in a purple peek-a-boo shirt, bright red hair with 3 inch grey roots, and breath that smelled of brandy. Next to her was a 6’4” earnest, business man type, probably my father’s age, who commiserated with me on the tininess of the seats . Evidently he goes on business trips almost every week and the cheapskates who employ the poor guy cant upgrade him to at least business class – hell even requesting a fire seat would have been a kindness.

The lady was my favorite. She had such a sweet smile , a charming honker of a snore, red dyed eyebrows, and slightly crossed eyes that crinkled up when she laughed. She also might have pneumonia, that cough of hers was scarily gooey. We bonded over snack mix.

The last time I flew anywhere, I was meeting a friend in a mutually sentimental spot for a road trip. – it was only five or six months ago but it feels like decades. I actually got nervous getting to the airport – I read the oh so friendly travel tips that accompanied my itinerary and showed up at the airport 3 hours early, I packed enough food, a pillow, and a thin blankie in my backpack in case I got stranded in my layover, and ran through that security checkpoint like my undies were on fire.. I ended up getting to my gate 2.5 hours early. I live in the middle, baby.

I think this is because of the metamorphosis that occurred over the past few months. Im not the same person – Im engaged, for one thing, which caused a spurt in my maturity that I wasn’t expecting.

God I wish I had Sims 2 on this thing.

Sorry. Got distracted there. What was I talking about?

Right. I feel more adult that child now, which is new. I certainly don’t feel like a full blown grown up, but Im definitely not a kid. Im regularly wearing moisturizer now, for fuck’s sake. And not because I want to prevent wrinkles, no! It’s to slow down the crevices that suddenly appeared on my forehead. Where the hell did those come from? There’s also the emotional stuff; all my therapy is finally clicking with me, things are making more sense to me, Im not bereft if I have an otherwise forgettable but not necessarily perfectly polite interaction with everyone Ive ever met (that’s pretty huge), I can yell at james and he can snipe at me and I know we’ll be okay… Im not sure how I feel about all of this, but I think its good. I feel so much more confident than Ive ever been.

Somehow that translates into me freaking out about a short plane trip. Hm. Makes sense in my head.

Okay Im going. I’ll read this over when I get home (hee hee!) tonight, make sure I made at least some sense then post this puppy. Merry Christmas, everybody.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Jay said,

    Hiya. Merry christmas. I decided to pop in after months of abscence to say that Devil-Jay is no more. I don’t want to be a part of dland anymore. The site is crap and I have finally had enough.

    Take care!

    /J


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

