Enchilada Hallucinations

Its like a wheat field in my kitchen. All you can see, on any flat surface, is the golden hue of melted cheese on chicken enchiladas.

I really need to remember to halve recipes.

I start my internship next Tuesday, and am faced with the uncomfortable proposition of having to bring my own lunch every day. I haven’t brought my own lunch since elementary school Girl Scout camp! Hell, even then I was buying lunch in school. The thought of peanut butter and jam mushing together for four hours before consumption utterly disgusts me. How are you supposed to eat that bread? It’s abysmal.

Since I was raised on school cafeteria food, I equate warm, mushy food served from a steaming stainless steel vat to be the ideal lunch. Cafeteria trays make me feel good about life… we had them at my field work last year, and it was always a welcome relief from the stress of pretending I knew what the hell I was doing upstairs. Mm. Macaroni and cheese. Turkey tetrazini. Jell-O!

So my next best option for this year is to bake up some nice big meals, make stacks upon stacks of microwavable tupperware lunches, and call it good. It’ll be warm and mushy, at least. I started with enchiladas.

I had never made enchiladas before, and was unsure what you actually put inside them. I was dimly aware of some kind of chicken, and cheese, and then unidentified Mexican goodness. I found a super easy recipe from a Southern Living cookbook that James’s mom gave me, and it looked promising. Ahem.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

2 cups chopped cooked chicken (I found some in the lunch meat aisle, thank goodness. I’m too lazy to cook something twice.)
2 cups sour cream (that’s the whole vat, people!)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 1/2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
1 1/2 cups shredded Colby Jack cheese
1 small can chopped green chiles, drained
2 tablespoons onion (I left this part out, not a big fan of how I smell after eating onion. My sweat reminds me of barbecues.)
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 (10-inch) corn tortillas (I used up 15, somehow. Get a whole bunch.)
Vegetable oil
1 cup shredded Colby Jack cheese

-Combine the first 9 ingredients; stir well. Fry tortillas, one at a time, in 2 tablespoons oil in a skillet 5 seconds on each side or until softened; add additional oil, if necessary. Drain.

-Place heaping 1/2 cup chicken mixture on each tortilla; roll up each tortilla (it’s gonna be hot! I’m just sayin), and place, seam side down, in a 12- x 9-inch baking dish. (I didn’t have a dish this big, so I used up every baking dish I had, all four of em, with three to five tortillas in each. It was a little overwhelming.)

-Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Sprinkle with 1 cup cheese, and bake, uncovered, 5 more minutes. Serve with salsa.

If you did all this right, you will come up with fifteen giganto sour cream chicken enchiladas. FIFTEEN. I can eat one, then I have to go lie down. The night I made them I went a bit insane, they smell so amazingly good and I was so hungry after waiting for four dishes to go in the oven for 20 minutes each that I ate four of them. I couldn’t quite think straight; I laid down on the floor for a bit and moaned. I might have passed out, I’m not sure. It was the sour cream that got me. Or maybe the pound and a half of cheese. I can’t be sure.

Eventually I heaped them, two at a time, into those disposable tupperware containers. Gosh how I love those. I keep thinking I’m going to get sick of them – I’ve had them for breakfast, not lunch, but dinner two days in a row now – and I’ve gained about two pounds, but the smell is far too enticing to pass up. Damn you, Mexico! Why you gotta be so culinarilistically genius?

Yes. I said culinarilistically. You heard me.

I blame the enchiladas. Excuse me, I’m gonna go lie down again.

Oof.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Genevieve said,

    Woah! I just made a big pile of enchiladas myself. I’m not much of a cook, but I figured I’d give it a go because I’m home a lot and I need something better to do with my time than watch reruns of Dawson’s Creek. So I found a recipe online that didn’t look too difficult and viola! (is that how you spell that?) Home-cooked meal! I actually boiled and shredded the chicken myself before making the actual enchiladas. Anyhoo, the recipe I used had a mix of cottage cheese and sour cream inside with monteray jack on the outside. It tasted pretty awesome, but I’m not a huge fan of enchilada sauce, which is what they told me to pour all over ’em. At any rate, it increased the number of successful meals I have made to four, not counting sandwiches.

    Whee!

  2. 2

    Tildy said,

    Congratulations Genevieve! And yes, that’s how you spell “viola:” when I was a kid I used to pounce into rooms and exclaim “Vee-O-La!!” I was super cute.

  3. 3

    Ajikan said,

    Damn the mexicans indeed. I just pigged out on some tacos al pastor. Bless the local taqueria. I’m now on a mission to find the best one in a five mile radius from my house (and you know that’s a lot of taquerias)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

