Late Night Baking

Its not really like Im that drunk. Just a little. Okay fine I had one beer. What? Im a cheap date. I think Im more exhausted than anything. Also – I am full of cookies. The overall effect is a remarkable feeling of inebriation.

One of my friends gave me an incredibly good recipe for “Dark Herb” cookies. My first batch was too big – I made them chocolate chip sized, but after some experimenting I realized that theyre much better in snap form. Ya know, tiny and crunchy. I thought I’d give ya’ll the recipe, if ya wanna try. If you have a stocked up spice rack you don’t have to buy anything new, either.


(I put crystallized ginger chips on top, for the festivity of it all.)
Here ya go –

Combine:
1/2 cup normal sugar (or splenda)
1/2 cup shortening
1 egg
1/2 cup molasses (I used organic, which is a lot lighter and less strong than the normal stuff)
2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
2 Tbsp anise seed (unshelled, not the star kind)
2 tsp coriander seed
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup strong hot coffee
2 1/4 cup flour
2 cup confectioner’s sugar (powdered)
1 tsp vanilla
3 Tbsp milk (I used heavy cream)

Mix it together in a big mixing bowl, spoon out onto a baking sheet (tiny! Use a small spoon, these suckers expand like you wouldn’t believe), and bake at 350 F until, well, until they look done. Remember, the crunchier the better. Plus, it makes your kitchen smell good!

My last batch is baking now. I need to wrap this up soon, my last day of work is tomorrow (yay!) and I need to be there at 9am. Considering thats in seven hours and I need eight hours sleep to properly function, I should vamoose.

Goodnight, everybody.

Leave a Reply

