Retail is sucking my soul.

My secular humanist soul.

I’m sorry I haven’t been on here in so long – I visit here every day and click on my little “Write!” button, but I can’t think of a damn thing to say.  My days have been filled with “friendly and helpful customer service,” obsessively straightening rectangular merchandise, and engaging in practiced two-minute small talk with my co-workers.  Two minutes on the outside, its usually more like 30 seconds or so.  What my major is.  What my plans are next year.  When/how I met James (the abbreviated version).   Can you draw me something?

Oh, right.  I’ve been doing a lot of sketches on the piles of scrap paper they have stocked behind the cash registers.  A couple people have started commissioning pictures (if that’s what you can call it) – they bring in little photos of themselves and ask me to sketch a picture of them.  Its fun, and has massive ego gratification value.  One of them framed theirs, one of them took it to Kinko’s and had it blown up to 18×24″ before he framed it and gave it to his wife, one of them keeps it as her nametag for work.   I brought some home with me and I’m debating whether or not to put them up here – they’re pretty recognizable but of all the people in my real life, Id be less upset if my retail friends knew about this than, say, anybody else.  Whatever.  I’ll figure it out.

I should get off here.  Today marks the seventh day in a row of me working, which on the one hand is totally appreciated since I’m gonna be remarkably poor in just a few weeks here (more on that later), but also I’m getting this “did you find everything alright today?”  sticky glazing that I should shower off before I go back for more.    Tomorrow I’ll have the day off.  I’ll be back on here for HNT, if I can come up with an appropriate 4th of July themed picture (as per Osbasso‘s instructions).  Maybe I’ll paint my butt or sumthin.  I dunno.

Thanks for being patient with me, you guys.  I’ll be back to normal in just a few weeks, I promise.  Entries out the ass.  Tell you what.  Woo.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kristynmarie said,

    Well, glad you had a minute to write. You always make me smile with your wit. And I’m definetly going to have to check back for that something with an “appropriate 4th of July theme.” 😛 Not every day you see a painted butt. 😀

    Happy 4th of July, anyway. I hope it’s a good one.

    KristynMarie

  2. 2

    Ajikan said,

    hey babe…
    understand the whole retail sucking your soul thing. I’ll probably be some kind of retail bitch in a month or so too.
    do you do drawings of people you know (i.e me?)?

  3. 3

    Tildy said,

    KristynMarie: Wow, thanks for the compliments! That makes me smile. I’ll try to work out some sort of butt art for ya. 🙂

    Ajikan: Yes indeed I do, if ya want. Since I know you better than the people at work it might not turn out as well, but I’ll give it a shot. Shoot me over a picture of yourself and I’ll see what I can do.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

